Basket Items: 0 Total: £0.00
Spend £50.00 and get FREE delivery




100% Secure Shopping with Thawte

Papua New Guinea

  • Clear Filter

Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea (full name, The Independent State of Papua New Guinea) is a group of islands including the eastern half of the island of New Guinea. The combined area of Papua New Guinea is approximately 463,000 sq km, with 5,152 km of coastline. Papua New Guinea’s terrain is mostly mountainous with coastal lowlands and rolling foothills. The country is divided into 20 provinces (Bougainville, Central, Chimbu, Eastern Highlands, East New Britain, East Sepik, Enga, Gulf, Madang, Manus, Milne Bay, Morobe, National Capital, New Ireland, Northern, Sandaun, Southern Highlands, Western, Western Highlands and West New Britain). Port Moresby is the capital, with a time difference of 10 hours ahead of GMT. The currency is the kina, and exports include gold, petroleum, copper, coffee, palm oil and logs. The population of approximately 6,000,000 comprises an ethnic makeup including Melanesian, Papuan, Negrito, Micronesian and Polynesian people. The primary languages are English, Pidgin and native languages, and the predominant religions are Christianity and indigenous beliefs.