Basket Items: 0 Total: £0.00
Spend £50.00 and get FREE delivery




100% Secure Shopping with Thawte

Sri Lanka

  • Clear Filter

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka (full name, Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka) is an island in the Indian Ocean, south of India, covering an area of approximately 65,600 sq km and with 1,340 km of coastline. Its terrain consists of mostly low, flat to rolling plain with mountains in the south-central interior. The country is divided into 8 provinces: Central, North Central, North Eastern, North Western, Sabaragamuwa, Southern, Uva and Western. Colombo is the commercial capital while Sri Jayawardenepura is the administrative capital, with a time difference of 5:30 hours ahead of GMT. The currency is the Sri Lankan rupee, and exports include clothing, textiles, tea, gems, rubber and coconuts. The population of approximately 21,300,000 people comprises an ethnic makeup that is 73.8% Sinhalese. The primary languages are Sinhala, Tamil and English, and the predominant religions are Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam and Christianity.