Basket Items: 0 Total: £0.00
Spend £50.00 and get FREE delivery




100% Secure Shopping with Thawte


  • Clear Filter


India (full name, Republic of India) covers an area of approximately 3.1 million sq km. Its terrain consists of upland plain in the south, flat to rolling plain along the Ganges, deserts in the west and Himalayan mountains in the north. India borders Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burma, China, Nepal and Pakistan, and has 7,000 km of coastline. The country is divided into 28 states (Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and West Bengal) and 7 union territories (Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Delhi, Lakshadweep and Puducherry). New Delhi is the capital, with a time difference of 5:30 hours ahead of GMT. The currency is the Indian Rupee, and exports include agricultural products, textile goods, gems and jewellery, software services and technology, engineering goods, chemicals and leather products. The population of approximately 1,166,000,000 people comprises an ethnic makeup that is 72%, Indo-Aryan and 25% Dravidian. The primary languages are Hindi, English plus over 16 other official languages, and the predominant religions are Hinduism, Islam, Christianity, Sikhism, Buddhism and Jainism.