Basket Items: 0 Total: £0.00
Spend £50.00 and get FREE delivery




100% Secure Shopping with Thawte


  • Clear Filter


Taiwan, formally part of the Republic of China, consists of islands bordering the East China Sea, Philippine Sea, South China Sea, and Taiwan Strait, north of the Philippines, off the southeastern coast of China. Covering a total area of approximately 36,200 sq km and with a total of 1,566 km of coastline, Taiwan has rugged mountains in the east and gently rolling plains in the west. The country is divided into 18 counties (Changhua, Chiayi , Hsinchu, Hualien, Kaohsiung, Kinmen, Lienchiang, Miaoli, Nantou, Penghu, Pingtung, Taichung, Tainan, Taipei, Taitung, Taoyuan, Yilan, and Yunlin) 5 municipalities (Chiayi, Hsinchu, Keelung, Taichung and Tainan) and two special municipalities (Kaohsiung and Taipei). Taipei is the capital, with a time difference of 8 hours ahead of GMT. The currency is the New Taiwan dollar, and exports include computer equipment, textiles, basic metals, equipment, plastic products, rubber products and vehicles. The population of approximately 23,000,000 people comprises an ethnic makeup that is 84% Taiwanese (including Hakka) and 14% mainland Chinese. The primary languages are Mandarin Chinese and Min Nan Chinese (Taiwanese), and the predominant religions are Taoism, Buddhism and Christianity.