Basket Items: 0 Total: £0.00
Spend £50.00 and get FREE delivery




100% Secure Shopping with Thawte


  • Clear Filter


Suriname (full name, Republic of Suriname) covers an area of approximately 163,000 sq km with a terrain consisting of mostly rolling hills and narrow coastal plain with swamps. Suriname borders Brazil, French Guiana and Guyana, and has 386 km of coastline. The country is divided into 10 districts: Brokopondo, Commewijne, Coronie, Marowijne, Nickerie, Para, Paramaribo, Saramacca, Sipaliwini and Wanica. Paramaribo is the capital, with a time difference of 3 hours behind that of GMT. The currency is the Suriname dollar, and exports include bauxite, alumina, aluminium, crude oil, timber, shrimp and fish, rice and bananas. The population of approximately 481,300 people comprises an ethnic makeup that is 37% Hindustani, 31% Creole, 15% Javanese and 10% ‘Maroons’ (ancestors of escaped African slaves). The primary languages are Dutch, English, Sranang Tongo, Hindi and Javanese, and the predominant religions are Hinduism, Islam and Christianity.