Basket Items: 0 Total: £0.00
Spend £50.00 and get FREE delivery




100% Secure Shopping with Thawte


  • Clear Filter


Guyana (full name, Co-operative Republic of Guyana) covers an area of approximately 215,000 sq km with a terrain consisting of mostly rolling highlands, low coastal plain and savanna in the south. Guyana borders Brazil, Suriname and Venezuela, and has 459 km of coastline. The country is divided into 10 regions: Barima-Waini, Cuyuni-Mazaruni, Demerara-Mahaica, East Berbice-Corentyne, Essequibo Islands-West Demerara, Mahaica-Berbice, Pomeroon-Supenaam, Potaro-Siparuni, Upper Demerara-Berbice and Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo. Georgetown is the capital, with a time difference of 4 hours behind that of GMT. The currency is the Guyanese dollar, and exports include bauxite and alumina, sugar, gold, rice, shrimp, molasses, rum and timber. The population of approximately 772,000 people comprises an ethnic makeup that is 43.5% East Indian, 30.2% black (African) and 16.7% mixed. The primary languages are English, indigenous languages, Creole, Hindi and Urdu, and the predominant religions are Christianity, Hinduism and Islam.