Basket Items: 0 Total: £0.00
Spend £50.00 and get FREE delivery




100% Secure Shopping with Thawte

Dominican Republic

  • Clear Filter

Dominican Republic

The Dominican Republic is the eastern two-thirds of the island of Hispaniola, between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, east of Haiti,covering an area of approximately 48,000 sq km and with 1,288 km of coastline. Dominican Republic’s terrain consists of rugged highlands and mountains interspersed with fertile valleys. The country is divided into 31 provinces (Azua, Bahoruco, Barahona, Dajabon, Duarte, El Seibo, Elias Pina, Espaillat, Hato Mayor, Independencia, La Altagracia, La Romana, La Vega, Maria Trinidad Sanchez, Monsenor Nouel, Monte Cristi, Monte Plata, Pedernales, Peravia, Puerto Plata, Salcedo, Samana, San Cristobal, San Jose de Ocoa, San Juan, San Pedro de Macoris, Sanchez Ramirez, Santiago, Santiago Rodriguez, Santo Domingo and Valverde) and one district (Distrito Nacional). Santo Domingo is the capital, with a time difference of 4 hours behind that of GMT. The currency is the Dominican peso, and exports include ferronickel, sugar, gold, silver, coffee, cocoa, tobacco and meats. The population of approximately 9,600,00 people comprises an ethnic makeup that is 73% mixed race, 16% white and 11% black. The primary language is Spanish, and the predominant religion is Christianity.