Basket Items: 0 Total: £0.00
Spend £50.00 and get FREE delivery




100% Secure Shopping with Thawte

Cape Verde

  • Clear Filter

Cape Verde

Cape Verde (full name, The Republic of Cape Verde) covers an area of approximately 4,000 sq km. This group of volcanic islands in the North Atlantic Ocean lie to the west of Senegal and have a total of 965 km of coastline. The country is divided into 17 municipalities: Boa Vista, Brava, Maio, Mosteiros, Paul, Praia, Porto Novo, Ribeira Grande, Sal, Santa Catarina, Santa Cruz, Sao Domingos, Sao Filipe, Sao Miguel, Sao Nicolau, Sao Vicente and Tarrafal. Praia is the capital, with a time difference of 1 hour behind GMT. The currency is the Cape Verdean escudo, and exports include shoes, clothes, fish, bananas, hides and volcanic rock. The population of approximately 429,500 people has an ethnic mix including 71% Creole (mulatto) and 28% African. Primary languages are Portuguese and Crioulo (a mixture of archaic Portuguese and African words), and the predominant religion is Christianity.