Basket Items: 0 Total: £0.00
Spend £50.00 and get FREE delivery




100% Secure Shopping with Thawte


  • Clear Filter


Burundi (full name, Republic of Burundi) covers an area of approximately 27,800 sq km. It is a hilly and mountainous country dropping to a plateau in the east. Bordering the Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda and Tanzania, Burundi is completely landlocked. Burundi is divided into 17 provinces: Bubanza, Bujumbura Mairie, Bujumbura Rurale, Bururi, Cankuzo, Cibitoke, Gitega, Karuzi, Kayanza, Kirundo, Makamba, Muramvya, Muyinga, Mwaro, Ngozi, Rutana and Ruyigi. The capital city is Bujumbura, with a time difference of 2 hours ahead of GMT. The currency is the Burundi franc, and main exports include coffee, tea, sugar, cotton and hides. The population of approximately 8,900,000 million people comprises an ethnic makeup that is 85% Hutu (Bantu) and 14% Tutsi (Hamitic). Official languages are Kirundi and French with some Swahili spoken. Christianity is the predominant religion followed by various indigenous beliefs.